Penguin Book


The Separation

Dinah Jefferies

What happens when a mother and her daughters are separated, and who do they become when they believe it might be forever?

A heart-wrenching page-turner, set in 1950s Malaya and post-war England, The Separation will appeal to fans of Victoria Hislop, Julia Gregson and Lucinda Riley.

Malaya 1953. It's the eve of the Cartwright family's departure from Malaya. Eleven-year-old Emma can't understand why they're leaving without their mother, or why her taciturn father is refusing to answer her questions. Returning to the family home, Emma's mother Lydia arrives to an empty house; there's no sign of her husband or her daughters.

Lydia embarks on a dangerous journey across civil-war-torn Malaya to find her family while in England her daughters struggle to cope without their mother. Refusing to believe that their mother would ever have abandoned them, Emma embarks on a quest for answers.

Nearly broken by what she has to endure, Lydia finally discovers the full extent of her husband's devastating betrayal.

Dinah Jefferies was born in Malaya and moved to England at the age of eight. She lives in Gloucestershire. The Separation is her first book, and she's currently working on her next novel.

Division
Penguin
Publication date
22/05/2014
Category
  • Fiction
Format TPS
198 x 129mm
Extent
400
US
Hardman Swainson Literary Agency
Translation
Hardman Swainson Literary Agency
Film
Hardman Swainson Literary Agency
Serial
Hardman Swainson Literary Agency
Audio (Unabridged)
Isis Publishing Ltd
Continue browsing >