Penguin Rights: Welcome


Welcome to the Penguin Rights Website

Here you can keep up to date with all Penguin and Puffin Rights news. Click on Penguin or Puffin to view current highlights, and keep an eye on our gold bestseller labels – these are titles that have already been snapped up in multiple territories. Head to 'advanced search' to find details of rights holders, rights deals and title info across over 15,000 books. We hope you enjoy looking around - don’t forget to check back here often to discover our latest news and acquisitions.

The Rights Team


Latest News

LONDON HIGHLIGHTS 2019

The Penguin Adult Rights team is delighted to announce our highlights for the London Book Fair 2019.

The Two Lives of Lydia Bird by Josie Silver
From the Sunday Times and New York Times top ten bestselling author, Josie Silver, a fabulous new novel about love, loss and new beginnings.
Translation Rights: Penguin UK | US Rights: Ballantine

‘Til Wrong Feels Rights: Lyrics and Pictures of Iggy Pop by Iggy Pop
A collection of lyrics, essays and photographs from one of music’s most iconic, outrageous and enduring music artists – immersing you in the creative world and genre-defining career of Iggy Pop.
Translation Rights: Penguin UK | US Rights: Clarkson Potter

The Matter of Being Human by Camilla Pang
A user’s guide to life from the illuminating perspective of a young woman on the autistic spectrum. Mixing popular science with personal memoir, she offers 11 lessons for navigating the complexities of human nature and social norms.
Translation Rights: Penguin UK | US Rights: Penguin UK

Exhale by Richie Bostock
A practical and inspiring guide on the science and art of breathwork from world leading expert Richie Bostock – with exercises to reduce stress, improve creativity, tackle back pain or chronic ailments, conscious breathing has benefits for everyone.
Translation Rights: Penguin UK | US Rights: Penguin UK

The Boundless Sea by David Abulafia
A titanic history of the three great oceans - the Atlantic, the Pacific and the Indian - and of mankind's relationship with the sea from the first voyagers to the present day.
Translation Rights: Penguin UK | US Rights: Oxford University Press

Trinity by Frank Close
A thrilling new narrative history of the most damaging nuclear spy ever to undermine the West, by a distinguished nuclear physicist.
Translation Rights: Penguin UK | US Rights: Penguin UK

The Zoologist’s Guide to the Galaxy by Dr Arik Kershenbaum
Using cutting-edge science to paint an entertaining and compelling picture of extra-terrestrial life, this book tells the story of communication, intelligence, cooperation and technology on Earth and in space, showing how life really works - and what it means to be human.
Translation Rights: Penguin UK | US Rights: Penguin UK

CHILDREN'S HIGHLIGHTS 2018

Penguin Random House Children’s are delighted to share some highlights for the Frankfurt Book Fair

FEMINISTS DON’T WEAR PINK (AND OTHER LIES) by Scarlett Curtis (fiction)
We asked 52 women: what does feminism mean to you? The result is extraordinary.
Curated by journalist and activist Scarlett Curtis, with incredible pieces by:
Emma Watson - Zoe Sugg - Keira Knightley - Gemma Arterton - Bridget Jones (by Helen Fielding) - Saoirse Ronan - Liv Little - Dolly Alderton - Karen Gillan - Alicia Garza - Jameela Jamil - Kat Dennings - Nimco Ali - Beanie Feldstein - Olivia Perez - Amika George - Evanna Lynch - Akilah Hughes - Tanya Burr - Grace Campbell - Alison Sudol - Kiernan Shipka - Elyse Fox - Charlie Craggs - Rhyannon Styles - Skai Jackson - Tasha Bishop - Lolly Adefope - Bronwen Brenner - Dr Alaa Murabit - Trisha Shetty - Jordan Hewson - Amy Trigg - Em Odesser - Emi Mahmoud - Lydia Wilson - Swati Sharma
5 Languages Sold: Dutch, German, Hungarian, Russian, US

PRETTY FUNNY FOR A GIRL by Rebecca Elliott (fiction)
Haylah Swinton is many things: best friend to two brilliantly bonkers girls, daughter to a loving but busy mum, and sister to an unbelievably annoying but also unbelievably cute five-year-old brother, Noah. But she's also something else - an aspiring stand-up comedian.
A feel-good, empowering coming of age novel, perfect for fans of Geek Girl and How to Build a Girl.

ORPHANS OF THE TIDE by Struan Murray (fiction)
Living in the heart of the city in a ramshackle workshop overflowing with curiosities, thirteen-year-old Ellie is trying to live up to her mother’s memory as the city’s Chief Inventor. But while she has inherited her mother's title she's not sure she has the talent to deserve it. Ellie's role is to fix things and solve problems but when the arrival of a mysterious boy arouses the suspicions of the Inquisition, she finds herself facing an enigma she can’t fathom.
2 Languages Sold: Catalan, Spanish

BABY TOUCH (colour)
The award-winning Baby Touch series re-launches with a contemporary, sleek, playful design. Colourful touch-and-feel areas stimulate a baby’s senses, while encouraging interaction and play between parent and child.

ON THE ORIGIN OF SPECIES by Sabina Radeva (colour)
Charles Darwin’s seminal scientific work retold as an accessible and stylish picture book for children with enormous crossover potential for an adult audience too .

HEY GRANDUDE! by Paul McCartney (colour)
An action-packed picture-book adventure from one of the world’s best-loved grandfathers, Paul McCartney. It's the perfect bedtime story for little explorers and the ideal book for intrepid grandparents everywhere to share with their grandchildren.